Pumpkin Spice Lattes

I’ve never been a coffee drinker–it’s too bitter for me. To make it palatable, I need to dilute it with a good deal of milk and lots of sweetener, so lattes are perfect. And everywhere, everyone (perhaps I’m exaggerating) is drinking or talking about pumpkin spice lattes. I tried one at a coffee shop but didn’t much like it. I thought I could make one at home that I might like better and I hate being left out of a craze. So, google to the rescue….
Here’s the recipe I used:
1/3 cup canned pumpkin puree
1 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/4 cups water
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon cloves
1/4 teaspoon ground ginger

Combine all ingredients in a saucepan and bring to a boil. Cook over medium heat, stirring occasionally to keep syrup from burning.

Let mixture cook together until it becomes syrupy and begins to coat the spoon (for about 10-15 minutes), then remove from heat.
Pour into heat proof jar and let cool before refrigerating.
I use about 2 tablespoons of the syrup per drink. That may be too much for others, though. Stir into milk, heat and add coffee. Autumn in a cup!

_DSC2021-3

This entry was posted in recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

